The colour of my skin 

The colour of my skin isn’t black

And yet the the title given to my race is “Black”

Therefore whatever negativity that the colour black representsis automatically what I am

I am evil

I am darkness 

I am death
I didn’t choose to be called black

But I have to wear that title like a crown and be proud of it because 

I am bold

I am strong 

I am powerful 
The colour of my skin isn’t black 

But I was called black so I could be put in chains

I created wealth for others before I knew I how to create wealth for myself 

I was taught to call myself ugly before I knew what ugly ment

I was told to be ashamed of being black…
But I didn’t choose to be called black 

I was given this title 

I took the title black  and made it a movement 

I took the title black and made it who I am 

I took the title black and made it the greatest title ever to be received by humankind 
The colour of my skin is brown 

I am different shades of brown 

The same brown as the earth

I am the most precious product of the earth

In this brown skin you find precious stones that represent my strength 

In this brown skinned body rivers flow to the rhythm of my hips

In this brown skinned being wealth is created
The colour of my skin is brown 

And yet the title given to my race is “Black” 

Black is beautiful 

Black is authoritative 

Black is sophisticated 

They thought by calling black would break me but they have made me more powerful than ever

The colour of my skin is brown and I am proud to be called black

Leave a Reply

